Trust Capacity Fund

On March 28th 2022, the English Department for Education announced the latest round of Trust Capacity Funding. (TCaF4)

In previous rounds, PAG has helped clients secure over £1,800,000 worth of funding to develop their trusts, and can do the same for you and your school or trust.

To find out more about TCaF4, what it can do for your organisation, and your eligibility, continue reading below.

To discuss your TCaF4 application with one of our experts today, click here.

    What is the Trust Capacity Fund?

    The fourth round of the Trust Capacity Fund (TCaF4) is now open for applicants. The DfE is committing up to £86m in Trust Capacity Funding over the next 3 years, focused particularly on Education Investment Areas, and within these, the 24 Priority Education Investment Areas.

    This funding will be provided to trusts through the TCaF 2022-2023 application window which will run from 1 April to 30 June 2022, and through a new targeted fund in the rest of this and in subsequent financial years. Details of this new scheme will be announced in due course.

    The maximum grant threshold available is £310,000, depending on the eligibility criteria. There are two strands of TCaF4 funding, classified as follows:

    • A (Up to £310,000): For projects in which your trust will take on at least one additional 'inadequate' or 'requires improvement' school from one of the areas listed below. Those in bold have the highest priority.
    • B (Up to £100,000): For all other trust capacity building projects

             Eligibility can be checked by clicking here.

        Express your interest in less than 30 seconds here

        Our Experience

        PAG has supported a large number of clients with applications for funding, growth plans, capacity mapping, and more, and has to date secured more than £1,800,000 for clients all over England.

        We can provide high-quality bid-writing, expert review services, research, and more to support you in every stage of your application.

        Our experienced consultants have already helped our clients submit strong TCaF applications in previous rounds and are poised to help you to submit a high-quality TCaF application and secure your funding.


        'PAG supported us to review and resubmit a TCaF application after being unsuccessful in TCaF2. Thanks to their support we were able to secure £97,999 to build central capacity within The Charter Schools Educational Trust. This was used to hire additional admin and HR support, hire an estates manager, and develop an ICT Strategy fit for purpose for future growth. PAG were professional, astute, and flexible throughout the process and we look forward to continuing our work with them on future projects'.

        Glyn Griffith
        CFO, The Charter Schools Educational Trust

        TCaF4 Education Investment Areas

        Below is a map that includes the 55 Education Areas, the 24 priority areas, as well as other places of higher need.

        To apply for strand A of TCaF4, your proposal must involve you taking on an underperforming school from one of these areas. If you are applying for strand B, your project does not have to include a school from one of these areas but will be considered higher priority if it does.

        Please see below for a full list of the 55 EIAs, the 24 priority areas (bold), and other areas of need.

        • Adur
        • Amber Valley
        • Arun
        • Ashfield
        • Babergh
        • Barnsley
        • Basseltaw
        • Bedford
        • Bexley
        • Birmingham
        • Blaby
        • Blackpool
        • Bolsover
        • Bolton
        • Boston
        • Bradford
        • Breckland
        • Bristol, City of
        • Broadland
        • Broxbourne
        • Broxtowe
        • Burnley
        • Bury
        • Cambridge
        • Cannock Chase
        • Castle Point
        • Central Bedfordshire
        • Chesterfield
        • Corby
        • Cornwall
        • County Durham
        • Coventry
        • Craven
        • Darlington
        • Derby
        • Derbysire Dales
        • Doncaster
        • Dorset
        • Dover
        • Dudley
        • East Cambridgeshire
        • East Devon
        • East Lindsey
        • Easty Northamptonshire
        • East Suffolk
        • Eastbourne
        • Eden
        • Erewash
        • Exeter
        • Fenland
        • Forest of Dean
        • Gateshead
        • Gedling
        • Gloucester
        • Gosport/li>
        • Great Yarmouth
        • Halton
        • Hambleton
        • Harrogate
        • Hartlepool
        • Hastings
        • Hertsmere
        • High Peak
        • Huntingdonshire
        • Hyndburn
        • Ipswich
        • Isle of Wight
        • Kettering
        • King's Lynn & West Norfolk
        • Kingston upon Hull, City of
        • Kirklees
        • Knowsley
        • Leeds
        • Leicester
        • Lewes
        • Lincoln
        • Liverpool
        • Luton
        • Manchester
        • Mansfield
        • Mendip
        • Mid Suffolk
        • Middlesbrough
        • Newark & Sherwood
        • Newcastle upon Tyne
        • North Devon
        • North East Derbysire
        • North Kesteven
        • North Norfolk
        • North Northamptonshire
        • North Somerset
        • North Tyneside
        • North Yorkshire Coast
        • Northampton
        • Northumberland
        • Norwich
        • Nottingham
        • Nuneaton & Bedworth
        • Oadby & Wigston
        • Oldham
        • Oxford
        • Peterborough
        • Plymouth
        • Portsmouth
        • Redcar & Cleveland
        • Richmondshire
        • Rochdale
        • Salford
        • Sandwell
        • South Norfolk
        • South Northamptonshire
        • South Somerset
        • South Staffordshire
        • South Tyneside
        • Southampton
        • St. Helens
        • Stevenage
        • Stockport
        • Stockton-on-Tees
        • Stoke-on-Trent
        • Sunderland
        • Swindon
        • Tameside
        • Tamworth
        • Teignbridge
        • Telford & Wrekin
        • Tendring
        • Thurrock
        • Torridge
        • Uttlesford
        • Wakefield
        • Walsall
        • Wealden
        • Wellingborough
        • Welwyn Hatfield
        • West Lancashire
        • West Lindsey
        • West Somerset
        • West Suffolk
        • Wirral
        • Wyre
        • Wyre Forest




        Get in touch